Simcha – Joy

My mother once said that every morning, I should be able to wake up, look in the mirror and be happy with the person I am. If I looked back at myself, hated my inner core or felt I was going down a bad path, I should seek help.

Ah, those words from the mouth of a clinical psychologist.

My mother somehow found joy and happiness, despite the uphill climb of life.  Life was not easy for mom, but she had this eternal optimism and strength that things would work out in the end.  She surrounded herself with friends, family and good people.  She celebrated the holidays, gathered people in her home, invited friends to be part of our lives.  She celebrated life and fought so hard to remain here.  She loved her grand daughters and family more than anything else in the world.  Inner happiness and joy was always there for the taking.

She left us way to soon.  Mom was not here for the birth of her grand daughter, Alex.

So it seems so fitting to bestow upon our daughter, the Hebrew name of Simcha (Hebrew translation for Joy).  Tonight, we will bless her with this name, in honor of my mom, Joyce.

May her legacy and love of life live on through our daughter and family.

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “Simcha – Joy

  1. Perfect! What an apt name.

  2. Bonnie Goldstein

    She is your joy – and a wonderful legacy to your mom and to all of you.May she bring you all joy…this is why a birth is called a blessed event!

Leave a comment